Skip to content


War Horse – National Theatre London 2008

War Horse – National Theatre London 2008


  1. Disc 1
  2. 1. Devon at Peace
  3. 2. Only Remembered
  4. 3. Albert and Joey
  5. 4. The Year Turns Round Again
  6. 5. First Gallop
  7. 6. Learning to Plough
  8. 7. Wheel of Fortune
  9. 8. The Scarlet and the Blue
  10. 9. Crossing the Channel
  11. 10. The Wounded
  12. 11. Devonshire Carol
  13. 12. The Charge
  14. 13. Hold the Line
  15. 14. Goodbye Dolly Grey
  16. 15. Friedrich’s Theme
  17. 16. Emilie’s Theme
  18. 17. Into the Crater
  19. 18. Pulling the Gun
  20. 19. The Year Turns Round Again (reprise)
  21. 20. The Tank
  22. 21. Joey’s Long Night
  23. 22. Albert and Joey Reunited
  24. 23. Only Remembered (reprise)


This spectacular, emotional drama from Great Britain’s National Theatre is based on the celebrated novel by Michael Morpurgo, the former Children’s Laureate and award-winning author, and adapted for the stage by Nick Stafford. Set against the backdrop of the First World War, it deals with such universal themes as friendship, loyalty, and bravery through the exploration of the extraordinary bond between a young recruit and his horse. Actors working with magnificent life-sized puppets by the internationally renowned Handspring Puppet Company lead us on a gripping journey through history, told through the eyes of Joey, a workhorse from a farm in Devon.

At the outbreak of the Great War, young Albert’s beloved horse Joey is sold to the cavalry and shipped to France. He is soon in the line of enemy fire, and fate takes him on an extraordinary odyssey, in the course of which he will serve on both sides before finding himself alone in no-man’s-land. But Albert cannot forget Joey and, still not old enough to enlist, he embarks on a treacherous mission to find him and bring him home.

War Horse is the winner of five 2011 Tony Awards®, including Best Play, a Drama Desk nomination for Outstanding Play, and a Drama Desk Special Award “for thrilling stagecraft.”


Vocals: John Tams, Tim van Eyken
Trumpets and Cornets: Andy Callard, Colin Rae
Accordion: Tim van Eyken
Flugelhorn: Colin Rae
Horn and Tenor Horn: Richard Ashton
Trombone and Euphonium: Tracy Holloway
Clarinet: Neyire Ashworth
Violin and Viola: Adrian Sutton
Programmer: Adrian Sutton
Chorus: James Barriscale, Paul Chequer, Conor Doyle, David Gyasi, Bryony Hannah, Kit Harington, Stephen Harper, Gareth Kennerley, Pieter Lawman, Jane Leaney, Tim Lewis, Colin Mace, Mervyn Millar, Allel Nedjari, Toby Sedgwick, Howard Ward, Roger Wilson

Music composed by Adrian Sutton
Lyrics by John Tams
Orchestrations by Adrian Sutton
Musical direction: Adrian Sutton
Recorded August 2008 at National Theatre, London, Great Britain